James S. Ashbridge, “C” Co. PA 30th Infantry, writes of camp life

Camp Pierpont, Virginia,

Jan 19, 1862.

Dear Sister I now take this pleasant opportunity of writing a few lines to you to let you know that I am well and hope these few lines may find you and all the rest the same. I must heer tell you that I have been looking for a letter from you this good while but up to this time I have received no answer from you to my letter and to tell the truth I am not verry well pleased about it either. I think you ought to have more time to write than I have but never mind if you have forgot your brother in the Army I cannot help it but that will of that we are all kept in our tents today for it has been raining all day and verry near all last night and no signs of stoping. I want to go out to the Potomac River for I expect it is verry high and I want to see it and will see it if I have to go in the rain. You would not believe how muddy it is around our camp for when we came here it was a wheat field and the wheat was coming up had not been plowed long. When we first come here it was raining and we had not got our tents for two days and had to crawl away the best way we could at night. It was very near nigh before we got our knapsacks of and then got what we could to eat and in the morning go out about a mile and cut down the woods falling the tops toward the rebels so they could not get their cannons or cavalry though it. When we come back at night our tents had not come nor we did not see them till the next night. So you may know that we had a hard time of it but we are fixed up nice now. We have got quite a nice little home but we have to carry our wood a good ways. We have done no drilling for a week now for it has been wet and muddy for more than a week. That ring that you gave me has been lost more than two months now but I do not know how or when I lost it but it is gone. Our Captain has come back. I do not know whether I have told you that he was at home sick or not but he was. He has come now and we was glad to see him. As glad as he was to see us for the men think a great deal of him and brag about having the best Captain in the regiment which we have. But our First Leiutenant and orderly Sargeant has gone home to recruit and he will be verry apt to arrest the man that deserted with my 5 dollars. I did not tell you that we got a pair of gloves and a pair of woolen stockings from our friends in Chester but we did. No more at present but remain your afectionate brother James S. Ashbridge

My love is to you all. Write soon.

The hand-written letter is dated Jan. 19, 1862 and in the hand of James S. Ashbridge who was a soldier at Camp Pierpont, Virginia. The matching Union letterhead and postal cover that both have a colorful Pennsylvania seal with Lady Liberty holding the Union Flag marked “For the Union”. Below her is “C. Magnus, 12 Frankfort St., N.Y.”. The postal cover is addressed to the soldier’s sister – Miss Hannah Ashbridge of Media, Delaware, in Pennsylvania County.

Enlisted on 5/31/1861 as a Corporal.

On 5/31/1861 he mustered into “C” Co. PA 30th Infantry
He was Mustered Out on 6/13/1864 at Philadelphia, PA

Other Information:
born 2/9/1842
died 1/10/1919
Buried: Grandview Cemty, Cambria Co., PA

Federal Pension Information:
He applied for a pension on 5/21/1892 from the state of PA
application # 1,112,491
His Widow (Sadie B Ashbridge) applied for a pension on 2/6/1919
application # 1,135,675

Leave a Reply

