Order of Secession of the Southern States

  1. South Carolina on December 20, 1860
  2. Mississippi on January 9th, 1861
  3. Florida on January 10th, 1861
  4. Alabama on January 11th, 1861
  5. Georgia on Janaury 19th, 1861
  6. Louisiana on January 26th, 1861
  7. Texas on February 1st, 1861
  8. Virginia on April 17th, 1861
  9. Arkansas on May 6th, 1861
  10. North Carolina on May 20th, 1861
  11. Tennessee on June 8th, 1861


    1. There were two governments in Missouri at the time, the one nationally recognized is the official one in favor of staying with the Union.

    2. Missouri typically is categorized as both a Midwestern and a southern state. The region was split on Union and Confederate issues during the Civil War. A small region of the state is called Little Dixie for the influx of southerners that settled there

    3. The Neosho Secession Ordinance was passed by a rump Missouri legislature on 30 October 1861 & signed into law the following day by Gov. Jackson. He was one of two rival governors of the divided state, and controlled almost none of it. The Confederacy added a star to its flag and accepted Missouri’s representatives to its congress, but this “secession” was no more meaningful than that of Kentucky’s Confederate shadow government 18 days later.

    4. I thought Missouri had two competing state governments so it was represented by both the Union and the Confederacy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s