What areas in the South were not for secession?

There were several regions or areas in the United States that were pro-Union even though thier State officially sided with the Confederacy.  They were:

  1. East Tennessee
  2. Winston County in northern Alabama
  3. Rabun County in the mountains of Georgia
  4. Ozark Mountains in northern Arkansas
  5. Hill counties (Jones County) of Mississippi
  6. Western and central North Carolina
  7. Western counties of Virginia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s