Bob Ledbetter, former Louisiana slave, sings

To the tune of “ole Dan Tucker” former slave Bib Ledbetter singing. Just 11 seconds. Download the Mp3 (164mb) to listen.

Lyrics:

My Sam told me to pick a little cotton. My boy says don’t, the seeds all rotten. Get out off the way, old Dan Tucker, Come too late to get your supper.

Other songs with Bob singing:

  • I’m Going Home (396k) Mp3
    [sings] I’m going home. I’m going home. I’m going home.

    I knowed that he’s coming soon as he got supper. At the white folk kitchen [laughs] I looking for him.

  • Wash My Clothes (167k) Mp3
    No soap, no starch. Nobody, nobody to wash my clothes, nobody to wash my clothes.

___________________________________

Digital Id afc9999001-t3992a
http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.afc/afc9999001.t3992a

Interview transcript

Leave a Reply

