Private Abner Durgin, 2nd New Hampshire

2nd New Hampshire Infantry Private named Abner Durgin who ultimately became a 1st Lieutenant.  The CDV bears the backmark of “Photographed by Herman J. Currier, Fisherville, N.H.”

Durgin was born in Concord, New Hampshire, in 1840 and still living there when he enlisted on May 21, 1861, as a Private. On June 3, 1861, he mustered into “E” Co. NH 2nd Infantry. He re-enlisted on January 1, 1864, and was promoted to Quarter Master Sergeant on February 1, 1864, and transferred from company E to Field & Staff. He was promoted to 1st Lieutenant and Quartermaster on June 24, 1864. He was discharged on December 19, 1865, and thereafter lived in Concord.

During Durgin’s service, the New Hampshire 2nd Infantry saw action at, amongst others: First Bull Run, Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, Oak Grove (where it saw heavy losses), Glendale, Malvern Hill, Kettle Run, Second Bull Run, Chantilly, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Wapping Heights, Swift Creek, Drewry’s Bluff, and Cold Harbor.

17 comments

  1. Abner Durgin was my G-G-grandmother’s brother. His father and two brothers all served in the war. I have hundreds of their letters from the war.

    1. i am writing a book about the battle of glendale which the 2nd NH participated in. i too would be very interested in getting access to any letters about that battle. thanks. mf

  2. I AM DOING CIVIL WAR REASEARCH OF THE 2ND NEW HAMPSHIRE. I WOULD VERY MUCH LIKE TO VIEW ANY LETTERS SENT FROM MARYLAND BETWEEN THE DATES OF OCTOBER 1, 1861 AND NOVEMBER 1, 1861.

    1. Hello — I am also researching the 2nd NH and am interested in any and all letters to or from soldiers. I live in Concord and was co-author of My Brave Boys, a history of the 5th NH.

  3. I have one letter from Major Jeremiah S Durgin to his sons Hiram and Abner Durgin dated Nov 21, 1861 and written from Camp Hale, New Hampshire. I have a few other letters written to soldiers from relatives in New Hampshire dated in Nov of 1861.

  4. By the way, Herman J Currier, the photgrapher from Fisherville NH, married Abner Durgin’s sister, Sarah Jane Durgin.

    1. Hi Marcy
      I’m doing genealogy about a Sarah Currier who is my
      Great Grandmother from Fishervill but I don’t know if she’s
      the one because this Sarah married a Hall who was my GGfather
      do you have any info on them? Thank you Lynda u

      1. Lynda
        I’am searching the Hall line of Agustus B Hall, who married Sarah Currier. She was born 1855, and they lived in Concord for their life.
        Agustus is my husband’s great grandfather. I have lots of Hall history, but looking for more. Would like to share. I don’t have a Herman J. Curier yet, hope to get there. Katie olsonke@myfairpoint.net

  5. Your Abner and his brother Hiram worked with their uncle Hiram P Durgin in Boston Mass (shoe manufactoring) before the call to war by Lincoln. Hiram P Durgin is my g-great grandfather and I’m wondering if any of your letters mentions him. He too was in the Civil War drafted from Natick Mass. Any photos?

Leave a Reply

