March 19, 1864 – 36th Illinois soldier, Whitney, writes home the day he is mustered in

Letter from Franklin A. Whitney to mother the day after he enlisted in Company F. 36th Illinois.

He was listed as from Mission, Illinois, [Kendall County] when he enlisted as a Private on 2/29/64. He mustered into Company F, 36th Illinois infantry 3/19/64. Mustering out 10/8/65 in Washington, D.C.

*************************

This transcript is from a copy of the handwritten original.  Original letter location is unknown.

Letter reads:

Aurora, [Illinois]

March 19, 1864

Dear mother,

I received your kind letter with a great many good advices. I expect to send this letter home by James. We was mustered in this afternoon and received my bounty. I intend to send home $50 of it that will lack ten dollars of being all the bounty. I will try to pay that up when we receive our next payment. The boys seem to think that #20 was more too much to take with me. Tomorrow morning we leave for Louisville at eight o’clock. The new recruits meet at the hall at five o’clock so to get our clothes. Then I will have a chance to send my clothes home. I was afraid that I would have to carry them to Chicago. Uncle H and Mr S was here this orning and I believe I was glad to see them. I wish that some came from our house had come up with them but still I don’t know but it would be a waste of time. The boys are all very well.  [end page one]

I have formed some new friends since I have been in. A[****] it is a Dr. Higgins. I was at his office and after a while he asked me to go home with him. I didn’t like to go at first but he urged pretty hard and said that he had two sisters there that was pretty good company so I went with him and found it as he said. In the evening his father got out the checker board and spent the time very well. I learned him well how to play ‘peremids] (sic). He was so much taken up with the game that he kept me at it all the evening and wanted some to there this eve! He is about 73 years old and has [next six words unreadable] full grown. They want I should kill reb, them and right to them. It is now ten and I must close. How are all the friends at home. Excuse all mistakes and right soon.

From your son,

Franklin A. Whitney

I suppose the money belongs to father if it does go in your letter

****************

Post-war photograph of Franklin A. Whitney, 36th Illinois Infantry.

Image copyright protected, the Kraig McNutt Civil War Collection.

Other related letters:

17 Nov 64 – to mother

13 Nov 64 – mother to son

Leave a Reply

