Official Records (CS) Wharton to Polk regarding skirmish action at Triune and College Grove

HEADQUARTERS WHARTON’S CAVALRY DIVISION,
Unionville, March 24, 1863-2 p.m.
Lieut,  Gen. LEONIDAS POLK,
Commanding, &c. :

GENERAL: My scouts have all returned. Twelve men, sent between Triune and Murfreesborough, ambuscaded a party of Federals on the dirt road; wounded 2, and put the party to flight. My men returned in safety.

The Eleventh Texas was sent below College Grove, on Harpeth, but could not draw the enemy into battle. They captured 1 cavalryman from Johnson’s First Tennessee Cavalry. I will send him to-morrow.

No change in the enemy’s position. The Second Georgia, under Major [F. M.] Ison, drove them from the forks of the pike yesterday toward Triune. I attack them every day. Steedman is still at Triune. I think he has only two brigades.

Last Wednesday a very large train of wagons, joined by two brigades of infantry, went from Murfreesborough to Nashville.
I hope in the course of a few days to send you a large Yankee mail. Malone stays away unaccountably, and he has a guide of mine with him who would now be worth [his weight] in gold. If you know his whereabouts, please say to him I desire his return.

I would be much obliged for late papers. I have no news from Van Dorn.

Please let me know the extent of Morgan’s disaster.

Most respectfully, general, your obedient servant,
JNO. A. WHARTON,
Brigadier-General.

O.R.– SERIES I–VOLUME XXIII/2 [S# 35]
Correspondence, Orders, And Returns Relating To Operations In Kentucky, Middle And East Tennessee, North Alabama, And Southwest Virginia, From January 21 To August 10, 1863.
CONFEDERATE CORRESPONDENCE. ETC.–#5
Page 725

Leave a Reply

