Official Records: Granger to Van Dorn about capture of medical officers at Brentwood

HEADQUARTERS U.S. FORCES,
Franklin, Tenn., April 12, 1863.

Major-General VAN DORN,

Commanding Confederate Forces, Spring Hill, Tenn.

GENERAL: I am directed by the commanding general of the Army of the United States to forward to you under flag of truce the herewith inclosed General Orders, No. 49,(*) War Department, Washington, February 28, 1863, in reference to the rules and regulations in regard to paroles as established by the common law and usage of war, and which have been published for the guidance and instruction of said Army. These orders have just been received by me and I send them to you at this my earliest convenience.

I regret that I am compelled to inform you that some of your officers violated a well-recognized principle of war and an agreement lately entered into by representatives of the Government of the United States and the Government of the Confederate States in taking two of my medical officers prisoners at Brentwood, Tenn., on the 25th day of March last; and also as I am credibly informed that at the same time these officers so uncomfortably crowded some of my sick and wounded there taken prisoners into wagons and compelled them to undergo such hardships and exposure on the march that a large number of them died from the effects thereof.

Furthermore the horses, horse equipments and arms of four of my medical officers were then taken from them. I respectfully request that you have the same returned to me as soon as convenient.
I am, general, very respectfully, your obedient servant,
G. GRANGER,
Major-General, Commanding.
—–
O.R.–SERIES II–VOLUME V [S# 118]
UNION CORRESPONDENCE, ORDERS, ETC., RELATING TO PRISONERS OF WAR AND STATE FROM DECEMBER 1, 1862, TO JUNE 10, 1863.–#19

page 471

Leave a Reply

