They are forgetting God in the instruments he has chosen. It fills me with alarm.

Jackson saw himself, or others, merely as instruments of God’s own choosing to accomplish His will.

“The manner in which the press, the army, and the people seem to lean upon certain persons is positively frightful. They are forgetting God in the instruments he has chosen. It fills me with alarm.”
– Jackson to a newspaper editor

Jackson’s view of duty allowed him to leave the consequences to God, no matter what they were.

“Duty is ours; consequences are Gods.”
– Jackson probably was aware that John Quincy Adams had originally said this.

Robertson [1997: 740] cites these words spoken by Jackson to his chaplain (Lacy) regarding his feelings to his own wounding on May 2nd, 1863:

“You find me severly wounded, but not unhappy or depressed. I believe that it has been done according to the will of God, and I acquiesce entire in His holy will. It may seem strange, but you never saw me more perfectly contented than I am today, for I am sure that my Heavenly Father designs this affliction for my good.”

Leave a Reply

