How I wish I were with you away from these scenes of profanity, vulgarity, and bloodshed.

Letter from KIA Sergeant Clifford Woods of the 62nd New York Infantry, Company E, or Anderson Zouaves

Harpers Ferry Va

Jan 23rd, 1864

A few months before Woods was killed in action at the Wilderness. 

Since I wrote the enemy have moved down in front of us some eleven thousand strong and are composed of Cavalry and mounted Infantry with some Artillery. Our Artillery was playing upon them (to use a military phrase) all day yesterday. We have been having some very cold weather here…still I never enjoyed better health in my life. I feel very grateful to you and Uncle for your kindness in offering to give me the charge of the farm this coming Summer and yet I hardly know how to answer you for I do want to study as much as I can after my term of service expires which will be on the 30th of June However, I can study through the winter and should be very much pleased to do the best I can for you on the farm until that time. Aunt Melissa, this is the holy Sabbath and how I wish I were with you away from these scenes of profanity, vulgarity, and bloodshed. ‘Our Heavenly Father give me grace and strength to resist temptations and do my whole duty in a right manner is my daily prayer‘ but oh, it is hard to do this and resist evils.

Late in 1863, the 62nd New York Infantry fought in the Mine Run campaign before heading into winter quarters. During Woods’ three years’ service, the regiment also engaged at Yorktown, Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, the Seven Days Battles and Gettysburg. Woods mustered into service on 3 July 1861. He was killed at the Wilderness on 6 May 1864.

Source: eBay, June 2007

Soldier’s identity:

Residence was not listed; 18 years old.

Enlisted on 5/1/1861 at New York City, NY as a Private.

On 7/3/1861 he mustered into “C” Co. NY 62nd Infantry
He was Killed on 5/6/1864 at Wilderness, VA

Promotions:
* Corpl 12/1/1861
* Sergt 1/8/1864

Intra Regimental Company Transfers:
* 8/15/1861 from company C to company E (Estimated Day)

Leave a Reply

