Preacher is a real Yank.

letter from an unidentified Union soldier.

New Haven, Connecticut,
15 May 1864

Excerpt

“I have just come from Church and I thought I would pen you a line. I am well and enjoying good health. The Chapple (sic) is decorated in style here. Their are 20 flags, one on the pulpit and 6 on each side of the Building and the rest are scattered around, it looks very nice. I dont think much of the Preacher. He is a real Yank so are most of the People here. Well I shall impress you how I come here. I come with a lot of sick and wounded soldiers.

I consider I am very lucky Boy to get the position I have seen the Elephant as often I wished and I want to keep clear of Him now until my time is out – Grant is the man.”

Source: Nate Sanders, July 2007

Leave a Reply

