I am inclined to think God will bless us at no very distant day.

unidentified Union soldier to his sweetheart

15 August 1864

Letter reads in part:

My Dearest Ann

You will see by this that I haven’t left yet, but as soon as I finish this will go up to the hospital and get a discharge and my transportation and leave tomorrow morning, nine o’clock for the front. I have been here since my return in the same with Bob who (as you have probably heard) is wounded in the left leg just above the ankle & is doing very well. I have had my ambrotype put in your heart pin & think tis very well done & I feel gratified because you have desired it so long. The Yankee officers have all been been sent off from here, some to Charleston and other places. Old man cried, because he surrendered to 182 confederates. I am inclined to think God will bless us at no very distant day. Only we must trust in him and look to him for comfort in afflictions troubles and trials for he has said ‘I will not forsake you in six trouble and would be with you in the seventh’ only let us exercise faith and patience and he will approve us if we do our duty otherwise?”

Source: eBay, June 2007

Leave a Reply

