34th TN soldier writes Aug 24, 1864

From CAPT James B. Long, Company “C,” 34th Tennessee Regiment, Tyler’s Brigade, Army of Tennessee, to a close lady friend, Eliza Alexander of Atlanta, Georgia, dated Aug 24 1864.

I am well. I don’t think you are likely to be troubled any more right soon by the visitation of the Yankee’s shells. They seem to have fallen back already, but I don’t know how far they will go. I assure you that nothing would afford me more pleasure than to be at your house and with you today. My heart yearns for an agreeable companion. I feel as it I was shut up in some dark dungeon with not a single ray of hope or spark of day to shine upon me. Now if I was in Atlanta, these dark clouds would be dispelled. The bolt drawn from the door of the prison [is] over my sad heart … I am not there, nor do I know when I can be …

The 34th TN participated in the Atlanta Campaign.

Leave a Reply

