I am giving the Scriptures a thorough reading in my prison life

Danville Prizon #4- VA. 1863

Unidentified POW at Danville Prison No. 4 to his mother.

14 December 1863

letter reads in part:

I am still a prisoner but through the blessings of God well and hearty. I am going to ask one more favor of you at home and I hope you will lay all your work aside and attend to it and I will try to pay you someday. Send me a cheese, 5 lbs. of salt 5 of sugar, 1 of spice, some hard soap. 50 cts worth of licorice. 50 cts worth of paper and some envelopes and any other articles you can think of that a prisoner may need. Try and have it sent as soon as you can get the articles together. Now don’t look at expense. I want all I have sent for if it costs me 25 dollars. We are doing pretty well since we came to D-? I am giving the Scriptures a thorough reading in my prison life.

Source: eBay, June 2007

Leave a Reply

