I hope and pray to our Heavenly Father that I may never again be circumstanced as on that day.

The following letter to his wife shows just how devoted Stonewall Jackson was to making all efforts to keep the Sabbath holy by not fighting on it.

“You appear much concerned at my attacking on Sunday, I was greatly concerned too; but I felt it my duty to do it, in consideration of the ruinous effects that might result from postponing the battle until morning. So far as I can see, my course was a wise one; the best that I could do under the cicumstances; though very distatseful to my feelings; and I hope and pray to our Heavenly Father that I may never again be circumstanced as on that day.”
– Jackson on April 11, 1862

Leave a Reply

