Numerous statements made by Thomas J. “Stonewall” Jackson

Stonewall Jackson had great hopes the crisis leading to the war could be averted if Christians, people of the Land, would unite in prayer.

Should the step be taken which is now threatened [by the general government], we shall have no other alternative: we must fight. But do not think that all Christian people of the land could be induced to unite in prayer, to avert so great an evil? It seems to me that if they would unite in prayer, war might be prevented and peace preserved.
– Jackson wrote this in 1860 to a minister.

Jackson believed God to be in control of the affiars of man, and of the contigency of war; thus he had great confidence that is war were to come God would permit it for the good of His children.

Why should Christians be disturbed about the dissolution of the Union? It can not come only by God’s permission, and will only be permitted if for His people’s good; for does He not say, “All things wortk together for good to them that love God?” I cannot see how we should be distressed about such things. whatever be their consequences.

– Spoken in 1860 by Jackson.

Jackson’s faith in God and belief in knowing that his very life was in His hands provided him great confidence and peace even in the middle of battle. It is believed that Jackson spoke these words to Captain John Imbolden on July 24, 1861, after the First Battle of Bull Run.

“Captain, my religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to be always ready, no matter when it may overtake me. Captain, that is the way all men should live, and then all would be equally brave.”
– Spoken byJackson in 1861.

Jackson handled the thought of promotion, or death, equally, as coming from the good hand of God. He wrote the following to his wife Anna.

“I am very thankfull to God who withholds no good thing from me (though) I am so utteryly unworthy and ungrateful for making me a Major General.”
– Jackson to his wife October 7th, 1861

In the same we that he considerd his own life as an instrument fit for use by the living God, Jackson esteemed the army he led to be such an instrument as well.

“Our gallant little army is increasing in numbers, and my prayer is that it may be an army of the living God as well of its country.”
– Jackson to his wife on April 7, 1862

Jackson was keenly aware of the need for what he considered Divine blessing or favor, no matter the circumstances.

“Under Divine blessing we must rely upon the bayonet when firearms cannot be furnished.”
– Jackson had ordered 1,000 bayonets on April 9, 1862, because guns were scare.

The following letter to his wife shows just how devoted Jackson was to making all efforts to keep the Sabbath holy by not fighting on it.

“You appear much concerned at my attacking on Sunday, I was greatly concerned too; but I felt it my duty to do it, in consideration of the ruinous effects that might result from postponing the battle until morning. So far as I can see, my course was a wise one; the best that I could do under the cicumstances; though very distatseful to my feelings; and I hope and pray to our Heavenly Father that I may never again be circumstanced as on that day.”
– Jackson on April 11, 1862

Jackson’s dedication to honor and duty is evidenced here. A major had asked for an extension of his furlough to attend to an illness of a family illness, after having already received the furlough originally because of a family death.

“From me you have a friends sympathy, and I wish the suffering conditions of our country permitted me to show it. But we must think of the living and of those who are to come after us, and see that, with God’s blessing, we transmit to them the freedom we have enjoyed. What is life without honor? Degradation is worse than death. It is necessary that you should be at your post immediately. Join me tomorrow morning.”
– Jackson wrote this letter August 2nd, 1862

The Battle of Second Manassas (Bull Run II) was a hard fought battle and Confederate victory. Jackson knew whom to give credit to for that victory. His doctor, Hunter McQuire, told him that the day had been won due to hard fighting; to which Jackson replied:

“No sir, we have won this day by the blessing of Almighty God.”
– Jackson to his doctor Hunter McQuire on July 19, 1861

“God has been very kind to us this day.”
– Jackson commenting (September 17, 1862) after the Battle of Antietam.

“General Lee is very kind; but he should give the glory to God!”
– Jackson had just been given a note from Lee praising him for his success in driving back Union forces at Chancellorsville

Jackson understood the irony between war and beauty, both of which he felt ordained by God in their own way.

“But what a cruel thing is war; to separate and destroy families and friends, and mar the purest joys and happiness God has granted us in this world; to fill our hearts with hatred instead of love for our neighbors, and to devastate the fair face of this beautiful world.” He continued in his letter to Anna, “I pray that, on this day when only peace and goodwill are preached to mankind, better thoughts may fill the hearts of our enemies and turn them to peace.”
– Jackson on December 25th, 1862

Whether experiecing victory in battle or suffering from being wounded in one, Jackson knew all the same to whom to give the credit to.

“I consider these wounds a blessing; they were given me for some good and wise purpose, and I would not part with them if I could.”
– Jackson commenting to his soldiers on May 2nd, 1863; after having been mortally wounded by his own men at the Battle of Chancellorsville

Later that same week, just days before he died, he had this conversation with his aide-de-camp James Power Smith:

“Many would regard them [his injuries] as a great misfortune. I regrad them as one of the blessings of my life.” Smith replied by quoting one of Jackson’s favorite Scriptures, “All things work together for good to them that love God.” “Yes!” Jackson responded. “That’s it! That’s it!”
– As cited in Robertson [1997:744].

Jackson saw himself, or others, merely as instruments of God’s own choosing to accomplish His will.

“The manner in which the press, the army, and the people seem to lean upn certain persons is positively frightful. They are forgetting God in the instruments he has chosen. It fills me with alarm.”
– Jackson to a newspaper editor

Jackson’s view of duty allowed him to leave the consequences to God, no matter what they were.

“Duty is ours; consequences are Gods.”
– Jackson probably was aware that John Quincy Adams had originally said this.

Robertson [1997: 740] cites these words spoken by Jackson to his chaplain (Lacy) regarding his feelings to his own wounding on May 2nd, 1863:

“You find me severly wounded, but not unhappy or depressed. I believe that it has been done according to the will of God, and I acquiesce entire in His holy will. It may seem strange, but you never saw me more perfectly contented than I am today, for I am sure that my Heavenly Father designs this affliction for my good.”

One comment

  1. I am amazed at the love stonewall Jackson had for God. His surrender to God has cut to my very soul making me think of how much higher I need to come in trusting and believing God’s Word and DOING IT! Isn’t it amazing how a man’s life can affect you! PRAISE AND GLORY ALL TO OUR GOD IN HEAVEN!!

Leave a Reply